The Chakras are described as spinning wheels of light, which regulates our energy throughout our bodies and each chakra color is referred to within our little niche of Buddhist thought, meditation, and Eastern healing practices.

While there are many Chakras within the human body, seven have been identified as “major.” Each of these Chakras have their own unique attributes which indicate the reason(s) behind their various colors.

The 7 Chakras and their colors:

  • the Root Chakra (red)
  • the Navel Chakra (orange)
  • the Solar Plexus Chakra (yellow)
  • the Heart Chakra (green)
  • the Throat Chakra (blue)
  • the Brow Chakra (indigo)
  • the Crown Chakra (violet)

Chakra Colors

The following are their respective color(s) and the reasons behind them:

The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine or coccyx. This Chakra is associated to our body and is linked to self-preservation and the survival instinct. Our health and security is connected to this Chakra. The realization of how our bodies connect to the physical world is also focused here. The color associated with this Chakra is red.

The Naval Chakra

The Naval Chakra is located in the lower abdomen. It is associated with those acts of giving and receiving, and connected to more physical feelings of love, passion, and sexuality. The feeling of pleasure is also linked with this Chakra, so one may feel focus and feedback in this Chakra during moments of harmony, generosity, group activity, and selflessness. The color associated here is orange and the gems are amber and coral.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The next Chakra is the Solar Plexus, which is located just above the nap and below the chest. A focus point of this area is the force of will and the sense of transformation. Our concentration and control of our personal energies originate from this point. In addition, our senses of power and authority, self-control, and ego discipline originates here. It can be used as one of our internal energies to affect what is outside of our bodies. The color associated with the Solar Plexus Chakra is yellow and the gems are amber and gold.

The Heart Chakra

At the center of the chest is the Heart Chakra which is the central force of love and understanding. The feelings that radiate from this point are forgiveness, compassion, balance, and harmony. This Chakra also nurtures unconditional love or a divine love It is love that goes beyond the physical realm. The color associated with the Heart Chakra is green and the gems are emerald and malachite.

The Throat Chakra

Located between your chin and the top of your sternum in the throat area is the Throat Chakra. It is linked to your power of communication. Through this Chakra, your can gain  understanding of truth and knowledge, of kindness honest, wisdom, and how these elements can be conveyed through thoughtful speech. The color associated with the Throath Chakra is blue.

The Brow Chakra

The region of the “Third Eye”” in Buddhist philosophy is the Brow Chakra. This area is located in the forehead, above the eyes. The “Third Eye” is related to our perception beyond date physical realm, meaning ghat intuition, insight and clairvoyance are associated with this region. You can also consider this area as the focus of the realization of our soul, divine wisdom, and peace of mind. The color associated with this region is indigo and the gems are Lapiz, Lazuli, and sapphire.

The Crown Chakra

The last Chakra region is the Crown. It is located at the top of our head. As you may have already guessed, this region is associated directly with the mind and spirit. This Chakra is deeply tied to the exploration of our consciousness, ones with the universe, our spirit and will, inspiration, and divine wisdom. In simple terms, it is deeply rooted in all things that deal with our “higher self.” The color associated with the Crown Chakra is violet and the gems associated with it are amethyst, diamond and quartz crystal.

Here’s an amazing table presenting a lot of information about Chakras:

Why understanding chakras can help?

Since the chakras receive and transmit energy (in terms of spiritual, emotional and physical energy), too much or too little can affect the way we think, feel and behave. For example, too little flow through the heart chakra can be interpreted as “hard-hearted” and having a selfish personality; whereas, too much flow through the heart chakra will be transformed into a bleeding heart of the people.

Each of the seven chakras plays a vital importance to your overall health. A routine balancing and cleansing of the seven chakras will help keep you healthy, wealthy and wise.


If you’re interested in learning a meditation technique for cleansing the chakras, I invite you to read the next article: Chakra Meditation.


Most people have heard of the term Chakras, but little know there are 12 distinct chakras and 7 major chakras with associated colors. The 7 chakras are known by every professional in the world of yoga, meditation, massage professionals, and Eastern healers.

I hope this article give an idea of the concept of chakras. If you’re interested in healing jewelry, I invite you to read the article where I list my favorite finds: Chakra Healing Jewelry.

Let me know what you think!

Thank you,


Feb. 2018


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.